Downlands Medical Centre



77 High Street
East Sussex
BN26 6AE


Leave your Feedback

Reviews (14)


March 16, 2021
Reception staff are rude and not helpful.

Excellent empathetic treatment

January 16, 2021
I have significant difficulty in dealing with / discussing all things medical. The Nurses and Doctors at the practice have been very understanding and helpful at all times in the c. 40 years that I have been a patient. Gold stars!
Mike Taylor

Great nurses & reception staff

February 26, 2020
Helpful GP’s

Rude GPs and waited 6 weeks for treatment

February 21, 2020
Two of the doctors I have seen at this Practice have been extremely rude and one unprofessional. One didn't even look at me when I saw him twice, he was typing and looking at his PC throughout, rather than consulting with me. He also said I wouldn't have been able to get out of bed if I had the flu in a condescending and unnecessary way - and I had to inform him that I hadn't been out of bed for 4 days before I managed to see him.

The other told me off and asked me why I was there and implied I was wasting his time - because he had not even read my notes and therefore didn't read about the lengthy and drawn-out process I had to go through because of the delays instigated by this Practice. I was very upset by his treatment. My partner gets treated respectfully by these same GPs, and I wonder why.

It is impossible to get a pre-booked appointment and they don't seem to offer evening or later appointments although on their website they say they do. Altogether an unacceptable experience that has made me anxious and nervous to see doctors at this Practice.

Reply from Downlands Medical Centre

Dear Anonymous,
I am sorry to hear of your recent experience when consulting with two of the Doctors at the Practice. However, as your partner is treated respectfully by these same GPs have you perhaps reflected upon your behaviour and attitude when attending for appointments with them. We offer early evening appointments each Monday and early morning appointments on a Wednesday. In addition reception staff are able to book you into evening / weekend appointments at other local practices. Please ask when calling to make an appointment.
If you remain dissatisfied with the service provided by Downlands Medical Centre there is another local surgery and you may want to consider registering with them for your medical services.

Provider responded

doctors good office staff very poor

June 17, 2019
Doctors were good but the receptionists and office staff were exceedingly rude and unhelpful on more than one occassion

Great staff and nurses,caring drs

October 24, 2016
Never had a problem in 25 yrs.

Always helpful and professional

October 16, 2016
Never fail to deliver a high standard of service. Helpful and caring staff who know the patients.
Dominic Rumsey

Exemplary Service from Doctors

September 26, 2016
My GP has to deal with both my mental and physical health. He never over prescribes pills and I can get my chest checked (had cancer) without fear of unnecessary antibiotics. I quite often see the Dr and come with sound advice and no tablets. Excellent.
Patricia Mcmuldrow

Always received good care

August 12, 2016
Always received good care, but difficult to get an appointment unless it's an emergency. Usually about a 2 week wait, has got worse over last couple of years.

No weekend service

August 12, 2016
No weekend service, very difficult to pick up prescriptions. No service after 6pm.

Have to go in at 8.30am to get an appointment that day.

Sign up to our mailing listKeep up-to-date with Healthwatch East Sussex and receive regular information on our activities and how you can have your say on local health and social care services

For detail on how we use your data please view our privacy policy here.