Conquest Hospital

Contact

0300 1314500

The Ridge
St Leonards On Sea
East Sussex
TN37 7RD

Location

CQC Widget


Leave your Feedback


Reviews (145)

Ive been in conquest hospital for 11 hours

Accident and emergency services
November 1, 2022
Ive only been checked on once when i got here after an hour they checked my fingers and told me to wait for the doctors 10 hours later still waiting ive got an infection in my hands i feel badly sick and theres literally not a nurse in sight for a couple of hours
Jazmin

Reply from Conquest Hospital

Dear Jazmin,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a message about the wait you were experiencing in being seen by staff in the Emergency Department (ED) at Conquest Hospital; we are sorry for the concern and frustration the wait was causing you.

As you may be aware, ED's up and down the country are experiencing ever increasing numbers of patient attendances for a growing range of illnesses and injuries due to difficulties accessing primary care services such as GP's and coupled with the unpredictability of emergency and life threatening cases arriving, there can regrettably be a delay in the ability of staff to see patients as quickly as they would want to. We continue to work with the wider healthcare system across Sussex to ensure that those patients who do need to be seen in the ED are seen as soon as possible, but appreciate this is of little consolation to you and apologise for this.

We do hope that staff were able to assess and treat your infection, and that you are starting to feel better now. Take care Jazmin, keep well and stay safe.


Provider responded

Awful.

Accident and emergency services
October 17, 2022
No explanation why when we were told the waiting time was 6 to 7 hours.
Anonymous

Reply from Conquest Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments about your recent attendance to the Emergency Department (ED) at Conquest Hospital; we do appreciate it.

The Trust works hard to provide a high and timely standard of care for all patients, and so we are disappointed to read that this was not your experience. Please accept our apologies for the worry or distress caused.

As you will appreciate, ED's up and down the country are seeing ever increasing numbers of patients attending for a wider range of illnesses and injuries, in addition to patients arriving in critical and life-saving need of care, and this does mean waiting times can sometimes exceed the four hour target. Unfortunately, we cannot predict the rate of attendance, but staff do endeavour to keep patients updated wherever they can and the Trust is looking to install digital systems that alert patients to waiting times.

We are sorry if you were not kept updated on waiting times, but very much hope you have now returned to good health and recovered from the symptoms that required your attendance to the ED. Take care, keep well and stay safe.


Provider responded

Totally out of order

Gastrointestinal and Liver services
October 16, 2022
My partner in the conquest hospital and is a very sick man but there are at least 2 people on the ward that have Covid-19 and we have asked for them to be moved but no and asked for him to be moved and told they are to busy. My partner can not sleep for fear that one lady will get into bed with him as she tries to sit by his bed side and he doesn't like it.
Amanda selmes

Reply from Conquest Hospital

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments about your concerns with the environment your partner is being treated in at Conquest Hospital; this must be very worrying for you and we apologise for the distress it is causing you and your partner.

We strongly encourage you to speak to the Matron for the ward where your partner is admitted to for local assistance, or you can reach our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0300 131 5309 who will endeavour to help you.


Provider responded

Badly organised, poor

Accident and emergency services
October 10, 2022
Waiting around with no feedback or indication of when we would be seen. Unbelievably poor
Anonymous

Reply from Conquest Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments about your recent attendance to the Emergency Department (ED) at Conquest Hospital; we do appreciate it.

The Trust works hard to provide a high and timely standard of care for all patients, and so we are disappointed to read that this was not your experience. Please accept our apologies for the worry or distress caused.

As you will appreciate, ED's up and down the country are seeing ever increasing numbers of patients attending for a wider range of illnesses and injuries, in addition to patients arriving in critical and life-saving need of care, and this does mean waiting times can sometimes exceed the four hour target. Unfortunately, we cannot predict the rate of attendance, but staff do endeavour to keep patients updated wherever they can and the Trust is looking to install digital systems that alert patients to waiting times.

We are sorry if you were not kept updated on waiting times, but very much hope you have now returned to good health and recovered from the symptoms that required your attendance to the ED. Take care, keep well and stay safe.


Provider responded

Filthy and no idea what was going on

Accident and emergency services
September 20, 2022
Attended the Emergency Department yesterday, and the children's waiting room was disgusting.

A cup of urine, a bowl of sick and masks left everywhere - nobody had bothered to clean it up.

I'm expected to go in, wear a mask and sanitise my hands etc, but it's Ok for the room to be left in such a mess. Staff were continuously in and out, so they couldn't have missed it.

Once seen, the staff were lovely, but didn't once explain what was wrong until 20 hours later.
Anonymous

Reply from Conquest Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave some helpful feedback about your recent attendance to the Emergency Department (ED) at Conquest Hospital; we do appreciate it as it provides us with an opportunity to make improvements wherever we can. The Trust is committed to providing a high and timely standard of care, and in environments that are appropriate, and it is therefore disappointing to read that despite finding staff to be lovely once seen, you had to wait 20 hours for a diagnosis and you found the children's waiting area to be in a very unhygienic state.

As a responsible healthcare provider where health, safety and infection control are paramount, we wish to offer our sincere apologies for your experience. We recognise that our ED's regularly see high volumes of patients, and the pace and flow of patients at peak times may affect the ability of staff to maintain the cleanliness standards we expect however, this is not something we should overlook and we will ask the Head of Nursing to liaise with the Housekeeping Team to review the frequency of cleaning rounds in the ED.

In terms of the length of time it took to provide you with a diagnosis, it is difficult to comment further on this without having details to establish what may have led to this delay but nevertheless, we apologise for the length of time taken as we appreciate you would have been worried and upset. We very much hope you have recovered from the symptoms that required your attendance at the ED, and wish you well.


Provider responded

Gynaecology appointment from referral

Gynaecology
September 17, 2022
Had the best experience at a somewhat stressful time with a consultant who was absolutely amazing. Really listened to me and explained everything so well. It's the first time I feel during this process I've been treated as a human.
Dawn

Reply from Conquest Hospital

Dear Dawn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback regarding your recent appointment with the Gynaecology Team at Conquest Hospital; we really do appreciate it. The Trust is committed to providing a high standard of care to all patients, and so we are delighted to read this was your experience.

We note from your comments that you were enduring a rather stressful time when attending your appointment, and undoubtedly you must have been feeling concerned, anxious and distressed, so it is very reassuring for us to read you were treated with the values of kindness, compassion and a high standard of listening skills. These values underpin how we wish for every patient to feel, and we hope the outcome of your appointment will result in appropriate follow-up.

We have shared your feedback with the Consultant in question who was touched by your kindness, and we wish you all the very best Dawn. Take care, keep well and stay safe.


Provider responded

Great experience with Diabetes Department

Outpatients
August 16, 2022
I have always had a really great experience with the Diabetes department and team. The staff are always thorough and show real care with the information and advice they provide.
Anonymous

Reply from Conquest Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback regarding your care from the Diabetes Department at Conquest Hospital; we really appreciate it.

The Trust strives to provide a high standard of care for all patients, and so we are delighted to read this has always been your experience. It is also reassuring to read staff are professional and competent in their duty of care to you, and strive to offer helpful support with the information and advice they provide.

We will share your lovely words with the Diabetes Team, and wish you all the very best for good health and well-being. Take care and keep safe.


Provider responded

Absolutely shocking!

Accident and emergency services
July 14, 2022
A&E practically empty. 6 hour wait and counting……… Absolutely disgusting. Avoid at all costs!
Anonymous

Reply from Conquest Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your recent visit to the Emergency Department (ED) at Conquest Hospital; we do appreciate it.

The Trust strives to provide a high and timely standard of care to all patients in what has been, and continues to be, difficult and challenging times, and we are therefore disappointed this was not your experience. Please accept our apologies for the frustration and dissatisfaction you have conveyed as this is not what the Trust would want any patient to feel.

As you will be aware from the national press our ED's, as with those up and down the country, are experiencing ever increasing rates of patient attendance for a wide range of illnesses and injuries and understandably emergency or life-threatening/changing attendances often need to be prioritised. ED attendances are unpredictable, and this does mean we cannot always forecast with accuracy the length of time patients have to wait to be seen, or cared for until discharge is appropriate.

Whilst we note your observation that the area you were sitting in appeared to be empty, this does not mean the whole of the ED was quiet and there may have been many urgent or traumatic episodes of care taking place in areas you could not see, for example, in the Clinical Decisions Unit (CDU) or the Acute Assessment Unit (AAU).

We hope you have now recovered from the symptoms that required your attendance at the ED, and wish you well. Please take care, keep well, and stay safe.


Provider responded

Rude reception staff

Accident and emergency services
June 25, 2022
I called 111 at 16.10 hrs and was given an appointment at 17.00 hrs at Conquest Hospital, Hastings.
When I arrived at the Emergency Treatment Unit I was informed that I had missed my 16.00hrs appointment and would have to wait until 18.00hrs.
I went back and was given the iPad to fill in, but was not told where to sit and the receptionist actually said to me quite rudely "why are you still standing there?" I was a bit gobsmacked to be spoken to like that.
This happened on Friday 24th June. She perhaps needs more training on how to treat people.
Fortunately I was seen by a clinician swiftly after that and they were brilliant.
Anonymous

Reply from Conquest Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your recent experience in the Emergency Department (ED) at Conquest Hospital; we do appreciate it. The Trust strives to provide high standards of care in what continues to be extremely busy and challenging times, particularly for our ED's, and we are sorry this was not always your experience when attending on 24 June 2022. Please accept our apologies for the concern and upset caused to you.

In order to facilitate learning we shared your feedback with our Head of Nursing for the ED, who has now confirmed that he has discussed it with the relevant leaderships teams. He also wishes to assure you that the eTriage system you refer to continues to be monitored and evaluated in terms of its use as a relatively new feature to help the Trust improve the flow of patients through our ED's, and the reception team manager is looking to identify some customer care training for reception staff.

We hope you have now recovered, or are getting better, from the symptoms that resulted in you needing to attend the ED.

Take care and keep well.


Provider responded

MS Nurse very good and always helpful

Neurology
March 30, 2022
Always calls you back when and where they say they will, very understanding always
Anonymous

Reply from Conquest Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely message about the MS Nurse at Conquest Hospital; it is very kind of you and we very much appreciate it. We will be sure to share your feedback with the MS Nurse to let them know how grateful you are for their responsiveness and understanding.


Provider responded
Sign up to our mailing listKeep up-to-date with Healthwatch East Sussex and receive regular information on our activities and how you can have your say on local health and social care services

For detail on how we use your data please view our privacy policy here.