Eastbourne District General Hospital

Contact

0300 1314500

Kings Drive
Eastbourne
East Sussex
BN21 2UD

Location

Leave your Feedback


Reviews (117)

Pembury Hospital is better organised

November 3, 2021
As a family we have had the unfortunate experience of having to attend EDG. Once in 2019 when my husband was poorly with type 1 diabetes. They sent him home. GP called ambulance the following morning and he was admitted to Pembury and received wonderful care. Recently, My son was sent home by EDH much to his GP amazement. My son has had to chase the follow up. And well me. Spoke to one consultant on the phone who told me completely different test results to the previous consultant who saw me. Left worried and confused. Apparently need a biopsy and since then I’ve heard nothing. So now the fun of trying to chase them up again. So all three visits just a poor service. Can’t put a price on health. So a move back to Kent for us.
Sharon

Outpatient appointment

Respiratory Medicine
October 22, 2021
Appointment in chest clinic.
Extremely friendly and thorough. Condition fully explained and plan of treatment given. Further follow up arranged.
Anonymous

Out patient appointment

Rheumatology
October 22, 2021
When last seen in Rheumatology Dept in 0ctober 2020 was told another appointment will be sent for January 2021.
None has arrived in spite of reminders
Anonymous

Urgent appointment referred via Optician

Ophthalmology
June 10, 2021
Called to attend Opthamology OPD ,48 hours after seeing my Optician.Social distancing was good.Everthing explained to me.Very happy with the service I received.
Gwladys Mabb

Casual approach to distancing

BLOOD TEASTS FRONT ENTRANCE
March 4, 2021
Attended DGH blood test dept via appointment (late Jan). It is a smallish room, but it felt even smaller because two or three members of staff who were not taking blood were sitting together near the desk chatting about something that didn't sound like their work. One member of staff was not wearing her mask correctly ie nose and mouth not covered - just her chin. I had to pass by them far too close in order to reach my designated cubicle , and again on leaving. They seemed oblivious of me waiting for them to make space for me to leave. Apart from that the blood taking process was efficient and pain free, but the atmosphere felt quite closed and clique like. There are no external windows in the room, which adds to the feeling of poor ventilation.
Anonymous

13 days into 20 of radiotherapy for prostate

Oncology
March 24, 2020
Staff friendly, caring and professional. Handled adjustments in waiting arrangements for COVID-19 efficiently and sympathetically
Anonymous

Outpatients telephone appointment-Gastrointestinal and Liver Services

Gastrointestinal and Liver services
March 19, 2020
Had a phone appointment with nurse practitioner instead of annual visit to outpatients (Gastroenterology).
I was expecting it to simply not happen due to COVID-19, but she rang within 15 mins of arranged time. A four minute phone call which covered everything we needed to discuss. Action agreed at end of call. It was great. So time and cost effective. Might not be right for everyone who really needs to be seen/have a proper examination, but this was perfectly suited to a simple review of someone with a well controlled condition. Since my condition was diagnosed and treated, I've felt far too well to deserve a face to face appointment at the hospital.
Anonymous

Excellent care all round.

Accident and emergency services
September 11, 2019
Monday 9th September, Early (07.15am) I looked up on the appointments app for an appointment with my own doctor at Seaford Health Center, Dane Road. Mananged an appointment for 10am. Went for the appointment and was seen promptly by the doctor, sent for an ECG and was told to attend A&E in Eastbourne, given letter to take with me. When arriving at reception at A&E at EDGH my details were taken and I was promptly sent to Triage. When finished I was whisked up to Ambulatory Care. From there everything went like clock work. Seen by a nurse for my details etc, they must keep asking for your details. Then seen by a doctor who wanted another ECG and Blood Test. An examination then was done by the Doctor. Then a male nurse in attendance going through my history and asking more questions. Another ECG followed by another Blood Test. I was then later motored down to the XRay Department for a number of XRays. Back to the ward. after 6 hours another ECG and then Blood Test. Spoken to and asked more questions by a Doctor. Another doctor came and asked more details and told me that I would receive a letter for another scan at a future date. I received a meal at 5pm which in hostpital standards was above and beyond good. I put the hospital in the Excellent bracket. All the doctors, nurses and other staff were worth there weight in gold. 6.30pm discharged home. From the beginning of the day to the end of the day the service from the NHS was EXCELLENT. Thankyou NHS for your caring.
Bill Purcell

Father took in after hydrocephalus operations

MRI Medical Admissions Unit
July 18, 2019
After brain op took in to a and e then this ward for 24 hours. Incontinent. Helpful doctor and nurse but no assistance available for adult social care on release. I had to ask for some incontinent pads - given 3 (he was fine before op). Felt very vulnerable, literally just discharged after we were waiting 7 hours to see adult social care who could not even come.
Natalie worrall

Reply from Eastbourne District General Hospital

Dear Natalie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback relating to the experience of care and treatment provided to your father at Eastbourne District General Hospital; we do appreciate it. The Trust works hard to provide a high and response standard of care for all patients, and we are pleased to read that you found the doctor and nurse you dealt with were helpful as this underpins of commitment to care. However, it is disappointing to read that you had to request some incontinence products as the dignity of, and respect towards, patients is a key care value. We apologise for this, and for any undue distress caused to you and your father

It is also disheartening to read that Adult Social Care (ASC) did not provide the assistance you were hoping for following your father’s discharge from hospital. Unfortunately we do not manage ASC but if you would like to discuss your concerns with them about their intervention following your father’s discharge from hospital, then you can email them at asccomplaintsfeedbac@eastsussex.gov.uk or you can telephone them on 01273 481 242.

We very much hope your father is recovering well, and that both he and his family are receiving the help and support needed to facilitate this. We send you all our very best wishes.


Provider responded

GP Referral

Physiotherapy
June 27, 2019
I was referred by my GP, however, was referred back as I live outside the post code area.
Anonymous

Reply from Eastbourne District General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about Eastbourne District General Hospital following the referral made by your GP; we are sorry to read that the referral was declined, and apologise for any unnecessary upset caused by this. We hope your GP has been able to refer you on to an appropriate healthcare provider, and that this will lead to you receiving any care or treatment required. We wish you all the very best for good health now and in the future.


Provider responded
Sign up to our mailing listKeep up-to-date with Healthwatch East Sussex and receive regular information on our activities and how you can have your say on local health and social care services

For detail on how we use your data please view our privacy policy here.